Expectation (Odotus), Saima Harmaja

lingua fennica

HK19670603_3770
.
This reminds me a little of Anna Akhmatova. Saima Harmaja had all the marks of greatness, I think – but she died much too young, and the fact that she wrote in Finnish has hardly helped to spread her cause.
.
I tweaked the metre here and there – I’m not sure the intrusion of trochees at the start of lines always works in English. The Finnish is pretty dense, so I hope I’ve retained the poem’s sense in the search for a way to express it in English.
.
While, silent, strolling through enchanted garden,
I saw the flowers sleep in placid train.
It seemed to cut them might be cause of pain.
I held them sweetly, sadly begging pardon.
 .
And then I cast my eye on scented peas,
and saw the evening’s gentle shade of azure.
As moment passed, each measure followed measure,
approaching night hue…

View original post 315 more words

Leave a Reply

