Pushkin in Translation: my English translations in honour of the poet’s birthday

On 6 June this year I read my translations of some of Aleksandr Pushkin’s poetry in honour of the poet’s 216th birthday at the ever-wonderful Arkadia Bookshop in Helsinki. Thanks to Ian, Liisa and Maire for hosting me! They even set up a display of Pushkinalia at the cash desk, which was a charming touch (that I unfortunately forgot to photograph).

As promised, I’m going to start uploading my translations to this blog. I didn’t provide any handouts on the day as I wanted the experience to be completely aural. Maybe this is something to change at future events. I will now upload each translation as a separate blog post, with the original Russian text.

If anyone else reading is interested in translating Russian poetry (but also prose, drama, or whatever) into their native language, I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

